Room Move/Change Room Allocation When Fully Booked

Room Move/Change Room Allocation When Fully Booked

Room Move/Change Room Allocation When Fully Booked

Quick Answer: Right-click the reservation on the Reservation Plan and select 'Move Room', or drag the reservation to a new room.
There are instances wherein the property is fully booked (100%occupancy), and reservations need to be changed from one room category to another. 



When this happens, GuestPoint will not allow you to change room allocations or move a reservation to another room even though the reservation where you will move it to is already unallocated.



In order for reservations to be moved to another room or another room category you need to update the Maximum Over Allocation Set Up

Go to Management Tab>Set Up>Rooms and Room Types>Room Types>Select the room that you will be moving the reservation to and update the Maximum Over Allocation to 1.



As an example, Reservation in room#15 will be moving to Room#20 and vice versa. To process the room move, update the maximum over allocation of the room category of Room#20 (Queen Deluxe from the set up). 



Un allocate the original reservation assigned in Room#20 and Save.



Open the reservation for room#15 and change the room type to Queen Deluxe and assign room#20 and Save.



Reservation will then be moved to Room#20 from Room#15.



Open the unallocated booking and do the same. Change the room type from old room type to the new room type.




NOTE: Once room move is processed, update the Maximum Over Allocation set up back to 0 to avoid overbooking situation. Setting up the Maximum Over Allocation to any number other than 0 allows your property to be overbooked depending on the number set up in this section.

Related Articles